A Day in the Life

This was prompted by the editors of Gods Mouths ( a wonderful blog that I hope you check out), so there’s a fair chance it will be reblogged there… at least I hope so.  It’s hard to pick out a typical day for me, but I’ll do the best I can for a workday.

I wake up to the beep of the alarm (generally I’ve already gotten up at least once before this, or at least been woken up by Monster Alice (my spouse) getting up or by the fracas that our younger dog makes because he’s STARVING; sometimes I’m extra fortunate and get a monster kiss before I go back to sleep).  I’m usually groggy for a bit (especially in summer), but I lever myself out of bed (sometimes doing a little mental work to clear the cobwebs away) and do stretches, take my meds, feed the cats (my most important duty- just ask them).

Then I take a half-hour walk in the neighborhood.  Getting out and about like that really helps in many ways, if only to get the blood flowing, feel the breeze on my face.  On Mondays and Fridays I pray to the gods, spirits and ancestors during my walk; on Fridays I walk around the block, “beating the bounds” (and picking up trash).

After my walk, I do some more exercises, then shower and shave.  I try to work in some meditation time (though I’m not the best about that).  Then I put some token clothing on (some of the spirits that walk with me aren’t down with the “skyclad” thing) and do my morning spiritual setup, which is a combination of grounding, centering, protection, devotion, and intercessionary prayer.  Then I get dressed the rest of the way and head for work.

It’s a pleasant enough walk to the Metro, although the transition from residential street to busy avenue is kind of jarring at times.  I generally read my Kindle on the Metro (I read a lot– right now I’m reading the first in the series of historical novels that was a major inspiration for the Game of Thrones series, and an excellent translation of the Odyssey, amongst other things).

A shorter walk from the Metro gets me to the office.  I’m fortunate enough to work at a place whose mission I support wholeheartedly.  It’s good work, and I work with good people.  I’ve been there for nearly 25 years, which means something.  I work in a cube-sort-of-place, but I’m in the corner near windows, and my “geekosphere” includes some wards and devotional items.  I’ve been relatively out at work about being Pagan, though I don’t wave it around; I’ve never really felt like it’s a problem with anyone who knows.

My commute home is a reverse of my commute in, though I tend to be more awake.  Sometimes I remember to pick a few people and just send them blessings and love.  Sometimes I give money to a beggar at the crossroads.  If someone asks me for directions, I always take my time and do my best (and admit ignorance if I don’t know).

I come home to a tumultuous greeting from the dogs (and a more restrained and critical approach from the cats); my monster is usually either napping, at the computer, or doing something crafty.  After a bit, we eat- it’s almost always leftovers of some sort, especially during the summer- we rarely have time, energy or volition to cook more than once a week at the best of times, so the microwave is our friend).  I always give a food offering to the lares (no, not their Celtic equivalent; a classicist friend of ours gave us a replica of a Pompeii lararium as a housewarming gifts, so that is the form of house-spirit we have).

After dinner I take care of email, do other Internet things, a bit of reading, etc.  Sometimes I do some spiritual counseling, perform divinations for people, or correspond with others in my temple.  Then it’s time to feed the dogs (another fracas) and cats, perform our nightly ablutions, and go to bed.  Before sleep I do a personal “spiritual hygiene” ritual that is loosely based on the Lesser Banishing Ritual of the Pentagram; it’s designed to put aside the cares of the day and clear space for me to sleep.  I curtain off the shrine for my head spirit (as he’s a private sort and I’ve been told it’s not best to sleep in the presence of some open shrines); I also close the door to one of my Brigid shrines (more as a goodnight and thank you gesture).

Leave a Reply

