Why write a blog?

I’ve decided to start a blog for my more religious/spiritual/mystical poetry and prose; this idea was somewhat sparked by Del Tashlin, who in a recent post  asked people to (amongst other things)

Tell your story. Tell your story even if you’re still figuring it all out. Admit you don’t have a God phone. Write a blog that’s all about how hard it is for you to meditate. Write about how it makes you feel when you feel chosen by some other path, especially if that path makes you feel lonely, different, radioactive, frustrated, depressed. Talk openly about how all this talk of spirit work makes you feel lesser because you weren’t chosen for that. Create a Tumblr for people who don’t hear the Gods, and encourage each other to create and stick to devotional work in spite of that.

I don’t have a godphone. I suck at meditation. And I’m definitely still figuring it all out. That being said, I think that I (occasionally) write stuff that is worth sharing.  I have some ideas, and I have a large backlog from my LiveJournal and my time at Cherry Hill Seminary.

And poetry.  Like I implied above, a fair bit of what I write is spiritual in nature, and it’s going to end up posted here.

I make no promises as to frequency of posts, and there may be periods where most of what’s here will be reblogging a fair bit of stuff I like, and links of importance.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Del
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 22:28:56

    Welcome to the WordPress club! as a note, many of us are reprising July-as-Month-For-Loki, so if you have poerty or prose related to Loki or tricksters in general, feel free to participate. Few are doing daily posts, or only writing MfL stuff, but the majority (like me) are weaving it in with other (non Lokean) posts.

    Reply

    • aeddubh
      Jun 19, 2013 @ 17:16:16

      Thanks!
      Also thanks for the info re: July… I will see what sort of inspiration I get in that direction.

      Reply

  2. Kitsa
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 17:47:13

    I’m glad you are doing this. It is good for your words to get out there and inspire others. You are also a braver one than I.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

